Passport – Renewal – CGI Toronto Consulate – Tatkal

2 Nov

I just returned back from my visit to the CGI Toronto. Today’s visit was quite pleasant, people servicing the citizenry were doing a wonderful job. I had to file for a tatkal passport as I had some trips to make and my old passport was a non-machine readable one. As of Nov 24th 2015, those Indian citizens still carrying a non-machine readable passport will likely face problems entering a country like USA. I wanted to brief everyone the steps as sometimes, the CGI Toronto website often does not provide enough details. Here are the items you need

  • $ 273 money order in favor of Consulate General of India
  • 4 Passport photos (2×2 inch)
  • Filled out online print of – https://passport.gov.in/nri/
  • Sign that form in 4 places (page 1, 2 and in page 3 – 2signatures) – Ensure the form is completely filled out – Use black pen
  • Stick one of the 4 passport photo on the filled out form.
  • Copies of Passport – 5 pages in front and 1 at the back – Sign and date  on the paper (self attestation)
  • Copy of PR card – Sign and date  on the paper (self attestation)
  • Copy of driving license – – Sign and date  on the paper (self attestation)
  • Reason for applying tatkal
  • Take your original passport and PR card
  • Carry a pen

Going today the curve ball was that I had to fill out the Personal Particulars form ( http://www.cgitoronto.ca/sites/all/themes/touch/files/PP%20form.pdf)

  • So fill that form and make total of 3 copies – Stick your 3 remaining passport photos on each.

I will be receiving my full validity passport in 2 weeks. If you need it urgently, then they will issue a short validity passport (2 years). I opted for 2 week option and they suggested I could apply through BLS as well. Given so much of bad reviews of BLS and the processing time for 4-6 weeks, I could not risk it. Please see the personal particular form attached as well. I was fumbling at the consulate to determine the name address of references in India. Hope atleast you could go a bit prepared with my information.

PP form

 

One Response to “Passport – Renewal – CGI Toronto Consulate – Tatkal”

  1. Marie January 5, 2016 at 9:03 pm #

    Thank you VERY much for this information. The list you provided was so helpful – especially the tip about the personal particulars form!

Leave a comment